A two-foot gauge carrier railroad, the WW&F Railway operated from 1894 to 1933. The line was finally established and ran from Wiscasset, Maine, north to Albion and Winslow. A museum was established in 1989 to preserve this part of the state’s history, and to let visitors discover this exciting bit of the past.
The WW&F Railway Museum is located at an old station by the name of Sheepscot Station, in Alna, Maine. The mainline track runs north on the original roadbed. The museum attempts to present the picture of history as best they can, by using steam locomotives and even original hand signals from the original running of this railroad.
- The address of WW&F Railway Museum is 97 Cross Road, Alna, Maine.
- The phone number for more information is 207-882-4193.
- Their email address is firstname.lastname@example.org.
- Visit their website.
Hours of Operation
The museum is open Saturdays (and some Sundays) all year, from 9 am to 4 pm. You will find not only the museum open but the trains (both diesel and steam) are also running on these days. It’s always best to call ahead 207-882-4193 to ensure the schedule.
There is free admission to the museum. Train tickets are $8.00 per person. Children 12 and under are $5.00.